Leaving the Scene of an Accident in Illinois

Leaving the scene of an accident (also known as hit-and-run) is a criminal charge, which is far more serious than an ordinary traffic charge. If you are convicted, your license may be suspended or revoked, and you will have a criminal record which could negatively impact your future. You could even serve jail or prison time.

At The Law Office of Philip R. Nathe, we have a solid understanding of how to mount an effective defense against hit-and-run, reckless driving, and other serious traffic offenses. As a defense lawyer and former assistant state's attorney for DuPage County with more than 30 years of experience, Mr. Nathe will work hard to help you obtain the best possible outcome of your case. We offer a free initial consultation to discuss your case.

What Is Leaving the Scene of an Accident?

In Illinois, any time you are involved in an accident resulting in property damage or personal injury, you are required to stop and lend assistance. Even for a scrape in a parking lot where you didn't realize that you hit anyone, you could face criminal charges for leaving the scene of an accident.

There are three classifications of hit-and-run charges:

  • Failure to stop and render aid after an accident involving property damage only, which is a class A misdemeanor, punishable by up to 364 days in jail and a $2,500 fine.
  • Failure to stop and render aid after an accident involving personal injury is a class four felony, punishable by up to three years in prison and a $25,000 fine.
  • Failure to stop and render aid after an accident involving death is a class three felony, punishable by up to five years in prison and a $25,000 fine.

Charged With Hit and Run? Contact Naperville Failure to Report an Accident Defense Lawyer Philip R. Nathe.

To protect yourself from serious consequences, contact Naperville hit-and-run defense attorney Philip R. Nathe. To schedule a free initial consultation, call 630.364.4621, toll free at 888.583.6197 or simply contact us online.