Naperville First Time DUI Attorney

First-Time Arrest for Drunk Driving?

An arrest for drunk driving is a serious matter in the state of Illinois. If convicted on a DUI charge, you face expensive fines, the suspension of your license, and jail. Additionally, you will have to install an ignition interlock device on your car if you want a DUI hardship license to drive to and from work or school. Since insurance companies monitor police reports for DUI and other traffic offenses, you can expect your insurance premiums to increase substantially. If you are sentenced to jail, your employer may not allow you to take unpaid leave to serve your sentence. At the Law Office of Philip Nathe, we can often reduce the charges or sentence against first-time DUI offenders when their driving record is clean and they are not guilty of committing other crimes.

Don't lose your license or assume pleading guilty will make a DUI charge go away - contact Naperville, DUI defense attorney Philip Nathe today to schedule a free consultation to discuss your case.

First-Time DUI Penalties in the state of Illinois

While judges have discretion in regard to sentencing first-time DUI offenders, in general, the following penalties apply if you're convicted:

  • License Suspension: 6 month mandatory driver's license suspension. If you refused a breathalyzer, a 12 month mandatory suspension.
  • Fines: Fines vary but can be as much as $2,500.
  • Jail: A judge can decide not to sentence you to jail or he or she can impose a sentence of up to 1 year in jail. l
  • Community Service: Up to 100 hours
  • DUI Hardship License: Eligible for a DUI hardship license 31 days after your license has been suspended. In order to receive an occupational license, you must participate in either a breath alcohol ignition interlock (BAIID) program or a Secure Continuous Remote Alcohol Monitor (SCRAM) program.

What is a BAIID or SCRAM Device?

A condition for driving on a DUI hardship license is monitoring by the state. The ignition interlock device functions like a breathalyzer and attaches to your car. In order to start your car, you must blow into the BAIID. If it registers a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .025% or less, your car will start; if your BAC is higher, the device will log a "FAILED" and your car will not start. In cases where you pass, you will be required to periodically blow into the BAIID as your are driving. If, at any time, you blow a BAC above .02%, your car horn will sound, your wipers will go off, and your lights will flash. You must pay for the installation of the BAIID and pay a monthly maintenance fee. The cost is roughly $150 for its installation and $100 a month for maintenance.

The Secure Continuous Remote Alcohol Monitor operates like an electronic bracelet but must stay in continuous contact with your skin in order to measure your BAC in your perspiration. You must have a wireless Internet connection installed so the SCRAM can transmit readings electronically to a remote monitoring location. The cost of the SCRAM device is about $15 a day. If you violate the terms of your occupational license, your license suspension will be longer and you forfeit eligibility for a hardship license altogether.

Contact Naperville First-Time DUI Attorney Philip Nathe

A DUI is a serious charge. However, there are a number of factors that must be considered which can result in the reduction of the charges or sentence against you. To schedule a free, confidential consultation to discuss your case, contact Naperville, Illinois, DUI defense lawyer Philip Nathe today.